De Hollandsche Molen
De Hollandsche Molen is a home away from home for all our visitors
who spends their summer holidays here to relax and escape the busy
The rich history of De Hollandsche Molen started in the early 1900's
with the Diepering family from Holland. He created a resort which
consisted of a swimming pool, camping ground and the renowned Mill.
Later in the 1950's some more permanent structures where built to
accommodate the laborers of the Wemmershoek Dam. Lodging was provided
for them and the Mill was used as a tea room for visitors to enjoy.
The du Plooy family bought De Hollandsche Molen in 1988 and has been
involved in resort's transformation ever since.
In 1991 De Hollandsche Molen was changed to a Share block company,
which allowed the public to purchase shares in the form of housing
and plots. In 1994 the infamous Mill was restored to its original
glory and with the turn of millennium the function venue was introduced.
Through hard work and dedication the resort has been shaped into an
international recognised holiday destination which caters for the